Lisa Bloodgood (Education Coordinator) has worked on environmental issues impacting the North Brooklyn community for the past decade. She began her efforts in Bushwick in 2009 working with an elementary school’s afterschool program, and a local community garden to bring a permanent garden to the school. Lisa spent the last five years working for New York City Council Member Stephen Levin as environmental advisor and constituent liaison where she worked with city, state and federal agencies on complex problems involving contamination, health, infrastructure, and environmental policy. She is currently a full time student at the City University of New York, Brooklyn, pursuing a B.S. in Earth and Environmental Science. Lisa joined NCA this past winter to head up education and outreach as well the organization’s projects focused on wetlands restoration and Creek access.

Willis Elkins (Program Manager) oversees the coordination and execution of a number of current NCA projects. His interest and work with Newtown Creek involve environmental restoration, public access and community education. Willis is co-chair of the Newtown Creek Superfund Community Advisory Group (CAG), member of Brooklyn Community Board 1 and a founding member of the North Brooklyn Boat Club. He has a number of years working in administrative capacities for non-profit organizations including the Buckminster Fuller Institute, where he serves as a review team member for an annual design challenge. Willis received a BA from New York University and has been a Newtown Creek watershed resident since 2007.

Mitch Waxman (NCA Historian) grew up in Brooklyn and currently lives in Queens. A commercial artist, he’s drawn comics, worked on Madison Avenue, and obsessively photographs all things NY Harbor and especially Newtown Creek. He lives, breathes, and eats the history of Newtown Creek and its surrounding communities. Check out Mitch’s blog The Newtown Pentacle.

Board of Directors

Mike Dulong is a senior attorney at Riverkeeper. His work focuses on a range of watershed and community protection issues, such as advancing sustainable animal farming practices, investigating pollution violations, and promoting strict drinking water protections for nine million New York City and Hudson Valley residents while minimizing the impact of those measures on local ecosystems and municipalities. Mr. Dulong received his J.D. from UCLA School of Law in 2011. Prior to law school, Michael received his B.A., cum laude, from The University of Massachusetts and his M.A. in British and American literature from New York University.

Michael Heimbinder (Chair) is Founder and Executive Director of HabitatMap, a Brooklyn based non-profit that builds web-tools to support grassroots environmental organizing. He is also a technical advisor to the Organization of Waterfront Neighborhoods where he consults on solid waste management issues in New York City. Michael is a graduate of Colorado College and received his M.A. in International Affairs from the New School for Social Research.

Christine Holowacz is the Community Liaison at the Newtown Creek Wastewater Treatment plant for the Newtown Creek Monitor Committee. Christine received the Woman of the Millennium and the Carmine “Dusty” De Chair Community awards from the Seneca Club in 2001 & 2002 for her work with GWAPP and a Citation in 2002 from the Borough President for her work in the Polish Community.   President of the Greenpoint Property Owners since 1989, Christine devotes much of her time to issues concerning senior citizen homeowners. She is also the Church of St. Cecilia political and housing coordinator.  She holds a BA in Economics and Accounting from Brooklyn College.

Laura Hofmann is a St. Anthony’s parishioner, mother of six and grandmother of five. Laura works for St. Nicks Alliance as a housing counselor/outreach specialist. She is a lifelong Greenpoint resident whose family has been negatively impacted by environmental factors in her community. Because of this, she’s been active in parks, waterfront and environmental organizations, with a focus on her community’s health. Laura is currently a member of the Newtown Creek Monitoring Committee, Kosciusko Bridge Stakeholders Advisory Committee, Newtown Creek Community Advisory Group, Greenpoint Community Advisory Panel, Greenpoint Williamsburg Organizations United for Trash Reduction and Garbage Equity and is a co-founder of Barge Park Pals. Laura earned an Associate of Arts degree in Labor & Community Organizing at LaGuardia Community College, and is currently studying at Hunter College as an Urban Studies major. She brings with her an honorable mention for the Municipal Arts Society Yolanda Garcia Planning Award, certification in street tree pruning, and odor paneling training.

Steve Lang (VIce Chair) has a PhD in sociology and is an associate professor at LaGuardia Community College where he teaches urban sociology and environmental sociology. He has done research on the political ecology of urban and suburban coastal environments. At LaGuardia, he helps foster a sense of awareness on the part of faculty and students regarding the environmental, political, and economic issues facing Newtown Creek.

Dorothy Morehead serves on Community Board 2 of Queens, chairing the Environmental Committee.  She is a founder and board member of ARROW (Astoria Residents Reclaiming Our World). Board member and vice president of the Sunnyside Chamber of Commerce. Serves on the Montauk Cutoff Coalition to redevelop MTA property into an environmental hub in Long Island City. Active with HarborLAB, an organization offering kayaking and environmental activities to NYC youth in Long Island City and at the Neversink Reservoir. She served as president of the Sunnyside Foundation for more than fifteen years, as president of the Parents Association of City-As-School and on the boards of the Greater Astoria Historical Society and Rosewood Chamber Ensemble.  She has served as president of her property owners for more than twenty years and has conducted walking tours of Sunnyside Gardens Historic District for U.S. and foreign university architecture and city planning schools.  Dorothy has a degree in Urban Studies from Queens College with a minor in Earth Studies.  She is a real estate broker in Sunnyside..

Thomas Outerbridge has worked in recycling for more than 23 years, including for the State of Maine, the NYC Department of Sanitation, and his own business.  Since 2003, he has worked for Sims Metal Management.  He is General Manager of Sims Municipal Recycling (SMR), and responsible for processing and marketing New York City’s curbside recyclables.  SMR operates waterfront facilities on Newtown Creek, the Bronx River, Gowanus Bay, and at Claremont Terminal in Jersey City.

Bill Schuck (Treasurer) is a Greenpoint resident who has the good fortune to be one of the few City residents to actually live on the Newtown Creek. Bill is a visual artist and educator with a studio located a few feet from the Creek’s bulkhead; he has been living in Greenpoint for 30 years and boating on Newtown Creek for 20.

Dewey M. Thompson has been active in the Greenpoint/Williamsburg community for almost two decades. Helping to found the Greenpoint Williamsburg Youth Soccer League got him involved in parks and open space issues. In addition to co-chairing GWAPP, he served on the Parks Committee of Community Board #1 for five years, is on the board of the Open Space Alliance for North Brooklyn and, most recently, founded and helms the North Brooklyn Boat Club. Dewey lives in Greenpoint with his wife Katherine (also a chronic volunteer) and three children.

Natalie Vichnevsky – bio forthcoming.